FSU players headline Lindy’s ’13 All-America Teams Staff

December 16, 2013 at 4:45 pm.

Jameis Winston and his FSU teammates have been a load for opponents to handle this season. (Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports)

Man, what just happened?

That was the sentiment of Auburn fans around the country — and abroad — when Ohio State fell to Michigan State in the Big Ten Championship Game on Dec. 7. The Buckeye loss, coupled with wins by the top-ranked Seminoles and Tigers, who were ranked No. 3 prior to the SEC title game, set the stage for an unlikely BCS title game.

Jimbo Fisher’s team entered the 2013 season on the fringe of the Top 10 in Lindy’s preseason rankings (No. 13 in fact), but behind Heisman Trophy winner Jameis Winston and a slew of playmakers on offense and defense, the Seminoles (13-0) chewed up and spit out every opponent in their way en route to an undefeated regular season and an ACC title. The ‘Noles success wasn’t a big surprise.

But Auburn’s? … No one in their right mind could’ve predicted they’d be playing for the national title just one year removed from a 3-9 campaign.

Heck, Tiger fans were hoping for eight, maybe nine wins entering the season opener against Washington State. But AU fans got a whole lot more than they bargained for in Gus Malzahn’s first campaign on the Plains.

A lot of Auburn’s success has been based upon a wildly effective offense, led by Heisman finalist Tre Mason, dual-threat quarterback Nick Marshall, a talented offensive line and great collection of skill players. But an opportunistic defense and outstanding special teams also put their stamp on the Tigers’ magical 12-1 season, which included a record-setting 59-42 SEC Championship Game win over then-No. 5 Missouri.

If you compare the Florida State and Auburn rosters, the talent edge goes to the Seminoles. That’s evident by glancing over our 2013 All-America Teams. But don’t underestimate the Tigers offensive ability and their big-game experience when the two teams lock horns in Pasadena. After all, Malzahn’s team did navigate through the nation’s toughest conference with only one loss. That has to account for something.

With that, we bring you our 2013 All-America Teams. We’ve also thrown in our Offensive Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year and Coach of the Year. Congratulations to all the players listed below on great seasons.



QB — Jameis Winston, Florida State

RB — Ka’Deem Carey, Arizona

RB — Andre Williams, Boston College

WR — Brandin Cooks, Oregon State

WR — Mike Evans, Texas A&M

TE — Jace Amaro, Texas Tech

C — Brian Stork, Florida State

OG — Cyril Richardson, Baylor

OG — David Yankey, Stanford

OT — Jake Matthews, Texas A&M

OT — Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama

AP — Jordan Lynch, QB, Northern Illinois

K — Roberto Aguayo, Florida State



DE — Jackson Jeffcoat, Texas

DT — Aaron Donald, Pitt

DT — Will Sutton, Arizona State

DE — Michael Sam, Missouri

LB — Anthony Barr, UCLA

LB — C.J. Mosley, Alabama

LB – Ryan Shazier, Ohio State

CB — Darqueze Dennard, Michigan State

CB — Lamarcus Joyner, Florida State

S — Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss

S — Deone Bucannon, Washington State

P — Drew Kaser, Texas A&M



QB — Derek Carr, Fresno State

RB — Tre Mason, Auburn

RB — Bishop Sankey, Washington

WR — Sammy Watkins, Clemson

WR — Davante Adams, Fresno State

TE — Eric Ebron, North Carolina

C — Hroniss Grasu, Oregon

OG — Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State

OG — John Urschel, Penn State

OT — Cam Erving, Florida State

OT — Taylor Lewan, Michigan

AP – Odell Beckham Jr., LSU

K — Nate Freese, Boston College



DE — Vic Beasley, Clemson

DT — Leonard Williams, USC

DT — Kelcy Quarles, South Carolina

DE — Marcus Smith, Louisville

LB – Trent Murphy, Stanford

LB — Chris Borland, Wisconsin

LB — Khalil Mack, Buffalo

CB — Jason Verrett, TCU

CB — Ifo Ekpre-Olomu, Oregon

S — Ahmad Dixon, Baylor

S — Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama

P — Tom Hornsey, Memphis



QB — AJ McCarron, Alabama

RB — Tyler Gaffney, Stanford

RB — Carlos Hyde, Ohio State

WR — Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt

WR — Allen Robinson, Penn State

TE — Nick O’Leary, Florida State

C — Reese Dismukes, Auburn

OL — Greg Robinson, Auburn

OL — Zach Martin, Notre Dame

OL — Jack Mewhort, Ohio State

OL — Brandon Scherff, Iowa

AP – Marion Grice, Arizona State

K — Marvin Kloss, South Florida



DE — Shilique Calhoun, Michigan State

DT — Timmy Jernigan, Florida State

DT — Ra’Shede Hageman, Minnesota

DE — Dee Ford, Auburn

LB — Max Bullough, Michigan State

LB — Kyle Van Noy, BYU

LB — Shayne Skov, Stanford

DB — Aaron Colvin, Oklahoma

DB — Justin Gilbert, Oklahoma State

DB — Terrence Brooks, Florida State

DB — E.J. Gaines, Missouri

P — Cody Mandell, Alabama


Offensive Player of the Year: Jameis Winston, Florida State

Defensive Player of the Year: Aaron Donald, Pitt

Coach of the Year: Gus Malzahn, Auburn

Team compiled by Lindy’s senior college football editor Anthony Gimino (@AGWildcatReport) and in-house editor/writer Matt Lowe (@MattLowe777)