CFP committee discusses 14-team playoff for 2026

Field Level Media

February 21, 2024 at 11:25 pm.

With the ink not yet dry on the new 12-team playoff format that will begin in 2024, the College Football Playoff management committee discussed the idea of a 14-team playoff, multiple outlets reported Wednesday.

Any additional expansion wouldn’t happen until 2026, if at all. The idea was discussed during CFP meetings in the Dallas area on Wednesday.

“Fourteen teams is a possibility,” Mike Aresco, CFP committee member and outgoing commissioner of the American Athletic Conference, told some reporters.

The CFP on Tuesday just approved a 5+7 model for the upcoming season, featuring the five highest-ranked conference champions and the next seven highest-ranked teams.

Under the 12-team playoff format that begins in the fall, the four highest-ranked conference champions will be seeded one through four for the CFP tournament and will receive a first-round bye. Teams seeded five through 12 will play each other in the first round at the home of the higher-ranked team.

It’s unclear what a 14-team format would look like, per the reports.

Aresco announced his retirement in December and will leave after May 31.