Lindy’s announces its 2013 All-C-USA Teams Staff

August 21, 2013 at 3:46 pm.

October 20, 2012; Hattiesburg, MS, USA; Marshall Thundering Herd quarterback Rakeem Cato (12) makes a throw during the game between the Southern Miss Golden Eagles and the Marshall Thundering Herd at M.M. Roberts Stadium. Chuck Cook - USA TODAY Sports

Old Guard Not Likely to Relinquish C-USA Title to Newcomers

Four schools — Central Florida, Houston, Memphis and Southern Methodist — departed for the league formerly known as the Big East and redubbed the American Athletic Conference.

Three more — East Carolina, Tulane and Tulsa — are in their final season of C-USA competition before joining the AAC in 2014-15.

In response, six schools were added to the league’s football ranks this season, giving the conference a robust roster of 14 teams. C-USA plucked a quartet from the Sun Belt — Florida Atlantic, Florida International, Middle Tennessee State and North Texas — and Louisiana Tech and Texas-San Antonio from the Western Athletic Conference.

Three more programs — Old Dominion, Western Kentucky and Charlotte — wait in the wings to join the C-USA football ranks.

While change has been constant for C-USA since its inception in 1996, 2013 should see two old guard teams meeting Dec. 7 for the league title.

In the East Division, East Carolina and Marshall return arguably the top two quarterbacks in the league in Shane Carden and Rakeem Cato, respectively.

Carden threw for 3,116 yards and 23 TDs.

Cato, the 2012 C-USA MVP, helmed one of the nation’s most productive attacks, throwing for 4,201 yards and a whopping 37 TDs.

Right in the thick of the west race with ECU and Marshall will be a Middle Tennessee squad that returns plenty of starters, including senior quarterback Logan Kilgore and sophomore running back Jordan Parker.

In the West, defending champion Tulsa lost eight starters from the league’s best defense, but seems to reload rather than rebuild.

Third-year coach Bill Blakenship should field another potent offense, led by a dynamic duo at running back in seniors Trey Watts and Ja’Terian Douglas, who combined for 2,044 yards in 2012.

Rice returns 19 starters from a bowl-winning team. Quarterback Taylor McHargue had 12 passing TDs and 11 more on the ground last season.


QB Rakeem Cato Jr. Marshall QB Shane Carden Jr. East Carolina
RB Kenneth Dixon So. Louisiana Tech RB Darrin Reaves Jr UAB
RB Trey Watts Sr. Tulsa RB Vintavious Cooper Sr. East Carolina
WR Justin Hardy Jr. East Carolina WR Tommy Shuler Jr. Marshall
WR Ryan Grant Sr. Tulane WR Jordan Leslie Jr. UTEP
TE Gator Hoskins Sr. Marshall TE Justin Jones Sr. East Carolina
OL Nate Richards Sr. Rice OL Jon Hodde Sr. Rice
OL Will Simmons Sr. East Carolina OL Josh Walker Sr. Middle Tennessee
OL Jake Alexander Jr. Tulsa OL Scott Inskeep Jr. Texas-San Antonio
OL Darius Johnson So. Middle Tennessee OL Stetson Burnett Sr. Tulsa
OL Adhem Elsawi Sr. East Carolina OL Jordan Jeffries Sr. Marshall
AP D.J. Banks Sr. Louisiana Tech AP Kevin Grooms So. Marshall
PK Cairo Santos Sr. Tulane PK Chris Boswell Sr. Rice
DL Justin Ellis Sr. Louisiana Tech DL Greg Hickman Sr. FIU
DL Khryi Thornton Sr. Southern Miss DL Shakeil Lucas Sr. Louisiana Tech
DL Lee Pegues Sr. East Carolina DL Jimmy Staten Sr. Middle Tennessee
DL Alex Bazzie Sr. Marshall DL Marcus Bagley Sr. UTEP
LB Derrell Johnson Sr. East Carolina LB Zach Orr Sr. North Texas
LB Shawn Jackson Sr. Tulsa LB Jermaine Holmes Jr. Marshall
LB Jeremy Grove Jr. East Carolina LB Andrae Kirk Jr. Florida Atlantic
DB Phillip Gaines Sr. Rice DB Deron Wilson Sr. Southern Miss
DB Kevin Byard So. Middle Tennessee DB Sam Miller Sr. FIU
DB Darion Monroe So. Tulane DB D.J. Hunter So. Marshall
DB Marco Nelson Sr. Tulsa DB Damon Magazu Sr. East Carolina
P Hunter Mullins Jr. UAB P Tyler Williams So. Marshall