Lindy’s announces its 2013 All-Sun Belt Teams Staff

August 23, 2013 at 11:07 am.

Dec 28, 2012; Shreveport, LA, USA; Louisiana Monroe Warhawks quarterback Kolton Browning (15) evades the rush by Ohio Bobcats defensive lineman Tremayne Scott (90) during the first half of the Independence Bowl at Independence Stadium. Jim Cowsert-USA TODAY Sports

Amid Change, Sun Belt Confident Top of League Remains Strong 

The seismic shifts that have shaken up the college football world — with teams well-established in their conferences moving on to perceived greener pastures — have trickled down to the Sun Belt Conference.

The conference lost four members in the last year and added two new ones to create an eight-team league for 2013.

Georgia State and Texas State will replace Florida Atlantic, Florida International, Middle Tennessee and North Texas, which have moved on to Conference USA.

But the changes aren’t stopping there.

Western Kentucky already has announced this will be the its final season in the Sun Belt as it, too, is moving to C-USA for 2014. But Appalachian State, Georgia Southern, Idaho and New Mexico State will be coming aboard.

“We’re certainly in flux right now,” says one veteran league coach. “I’m not going to try to paint a pretty picture necessarily because I don’t know that it is pretty.”

There is some irony in the timing of the defections as the league’s product on the field is arguably at its highest point. In the past three years, the league has sent 10 teams to bowls, half of them coming away with postseason wins.

And last season Louisiana-Monroe and Middle Tennessee got national attention by notching victories over teams from BCS automatic qualifying conferences, Arkansas (SEC) and Georgia Tech (ACC), respectively. Louisiana nearly came away with a third before falling 27-20 at SEC power Florida.

“Those were pretty significant deals,” the coach said.

But if the membership has undergone a radical change, the Sun Belt standings will have a familiar look in 2013. The same teams that contended for the 2012 title (less Middle Tennessee) will be back at it again this fall.

Despite the loss of two-time Player of the Year quarterback Ryan Aplin, Arkansas State, 15-1 in conference play over the past two years, looks primed to make a run for a third straight league title.

Louisiana-Monroe loses only a couple of starters from the first bowl team in school history, and Louisiana, 12-4 in the league the last two years, will be hard to stop offensively.

Western Kentucky, coming off a bowl game and just three years removed from a winless season, has a new coach known for his offensive success. You may have heard of him — Bobby Petrino, most recently of Arkansas.

Of the remaining four teams, Troy, which won outright or shared five consecutive titles until slumping in 2011, has the best chance of getting into the upper half of the standings.


QB Kolton Browning Sr. Louisiana-Monroe QB Terrance Broadway Jr. Louisiana
RB David Oku Sr. Arkansas State RB Alonzo Harris Jr. Louisiana
RB Antonio Andrews Sr. Western Kentucky RB Jyruss Edwards Sr. Louisiana-Monroe
WR J.D. McKissic So. Arkansas State WR Eric Thomas Sr. Troy
WR Je’Ron Hamm Sr. Louisiana-Monroe WR Jeremé Jones Jr. South Alabama
TE Wes Saxton Jr. South Alabama TE Ian Thompson Sr. Louisiana
C Josh Allen Sr. Louisiana-Monroe C Andre Huval Sr. Louisiana
OL Joseph Treadwell Jr. Louisiana-Monroe OL Terrence Jones Jr. Troy
OL Aaron Williams Sr. Arkansas State OL Charlie Will Tuttle Jr. Texas State
OL Daniel Quave Jr. Louisiana OL Melvin Meggs Jr. South Alabama
OL Cameron Clemmons Jr. Western Kentucky OL Mykhael Quave So. Louisiana
AP Darryl Surgent Sr. Louisiana-Lafayette AP T.J. Glover Jr. South Alabama
K Brian Davis Sr. Arkansas State K Will Johnson Jr. Texas State
DL Ryan Carrethers Sr. Arkansas State DL Lonnie Gosha So. Troy
DL Alex Page Sr. South Alabama DL Kentarius Caldwell Sr. Louisiana-Monroe
DL D.J. Yendrey Sr. Texas State DL Blake McColloch Sr. Texas State
DL Christian Ringo Jr. Louisiana DL Amos Draper Sr. Arkansas State
LB Andrew Jackson Sr. Western Kentucky LB Enrique Williams Sr. South Alabama
LB Qushaun Lee Jr. Arkansas State LB Michael Orakpo Jr. Texas State
LB Cameron Blakes Sr. Louisiana-Monroe LB Justin Anderson Sr. Louisiana
DB Craig Mager Jr. Texas State DB Vincent Eddie Sr. Louisiana-Monroe
DB Rocky Hayes So. Arkansas State DB Chris Pickett Sr. Troy
DB Jonathan Dowling Jr. Western Kentucky DB Rodney Gillis Sr. Louisiana
DB Isaiah Newsome Sr. Louisiana-Monroe DB Camren Hudson Sr. Troy
P Matt Hubbard Jr. Georgia State P Hendrix Brakefield Sr. Western Kentucky

ALL  |  NFL  |  College Football  |  MLB  |  NBA