Lindy’s announces its 2013 All-SEC Teams Staff

August 22, 2013 at 10:38 am.

Jan 19, 2013; Tuscaloosa, AL, USA; Alabama Crimson Tide coach Nick Saban talks to the fans at the National Championship celebration outside Bryant Denny Stadium. Marvin Gentry-USA TODAY Sports

Stacked Again, SEC Won’t Be Cakewalk for Crimson Tide

Alabama coach Nick Saban was in an enviable — yet difficult — position last year.

Twice before, Saban had a chance to repeat as a national champion. He was unable to do so at LSU in 2004 and at Alabama in 2010. But he figured it out last season as the Crimson Tide became the first team to win back-to-back BCS national championships since the system was formed in 1998.

Alabama’s mauling of Notre Dame gave the Tide a third national title in four years. And with the talent returning, Alabama is not only the favorite to win the SEC again, but to claim yet another national crown.

It won’t be easy. The SEC has five other teams — Georgia, Texas A&M, LSU, Florida and South Carolina — that won at least 10 games.

In the West, Alabama will have to fight off rival LSU and the Aggies, the only team to beat Bama last year. A&M returns a prolific offense, led by Heisman Trophy-winning quarterback Johnny Manziel. LSU must rebuild its defense and hope QB Zach Mettenberger plays well.

No other team in the West will contend.

Georgia has won the East two years in a row and is led by record-setting quarterback Aaron Murray and tailbacks Todd Gurley and Keith Marshall.

South Carolina has beaten Georgia in each of the past two years, but hasn’t been able to regain the East crown it wore in 2010. Two capable quarterbacks and the nation’s best defensive player, Jadeveon Clowney, give USC a shot.

Florida bounced back from a 7-6 season to go 11-2 with wins over Texas A&M, LSU, South Carolina and Florida State. But the Gators must improve on offense.


Georgia lost 10 defensive players who made at least two starts. While the defense won’t be as stout, the offense should be outstanding. Murray, Marshall and Gurley are joined by a solid receiving corps and five offensive line starters.

Steve Spurrier has won 11 games two years in a row — a remarkable feat at a school that had one previous 10-win season. Quarterbacks Connor Shaw and Dylan Thompson were effective last year, and the defense will again be solid.

Florida had the nation’s No. 5-ranked defense, but the offense was 104th. Quarterback Jeff Driskel showed flashes of brilliance but wasn’t consistent in the passing game, and the Gators lose
1,000-yard rusher Mike Gillislee.

Vanderbilt won nine games for the first time since 1915 but had just one win over a team with a winning record. Newcomer Missouri found the SEC too difficult to navigate. Tennessee and Kentucky are rebuilding with new coaches.



AJ McCarron has won two national championships at Alabama and had a sparkling 30-3 touchdown-to-interception ratio last season. He’s backed by a great running back, a solid offensive line and
a stout defense.

Texas A&M has the best chance to unseat Alabama, with the elusive Johnny Manziel and other offensive weapons. The Aggies host Alabama in what could be the SEC’s premier game.

LSU lost 11 players early to the NFL, but Les Miles still has enough talent to contend, if the offense improves. The Tigers have enough skill players to be productive, if Miles becomes less conservative.

Ole Miss overachieved last year. Mississippi State doesn’t have the talent to compete with the West’s elite. Auburn (0-8) and Arkansas (2-6) have new coaches.

Lindy’s 2013 ALL-SEC Team

QB Johnny Manziel So. Texas A&M QB AJ McCarron Sr. Alabama QB Aaron Murray Sr. Georgia
RB Todd Gurley So. Georgia RB Jeremy Hill So. LSU RB Keith Marshall So. Georgia
RB T.J. Yeldon So. Alabama RB Tre Mason Jr. Auburn RB Jeff Scott Sr. Ole Miss
WR Amari Cooper So. Alabama WR Donte Moncrief Jr. Ole Miss WR Odell Beckham Jr. LSU
WR Jordan Matthews Sr. Vanderbilt WR Mike Evans So. Texas A&M WR Malcolm Mitchell Jr. Georgia
TE Arthur Lynch Sr. Georgia TE Rory Anderson Jr. South Carolina TE Trey Burton Sr. Florida
C Travis Swanson Sr. Arkansas C James Stone Sr. Tennessee C Dillon Day Jr. Mississippi State
OL Cyrus Kouandjio Jr. Alabama OL La’el Collins Jr. LSU OL Jon Halapio Sr. Florida
OL Gabe Jackson Sr. Mississippi State OL Ja’Wuan James Sr. Tennessee OL A.J. Cann Jr. South Carolina
OL Tiny Richardson Jr. Tennessee OL Chris Burnette Sr. Georgia OL Zach Fulton Sr. Tennessee
OL Jake Matthews Sr. Texas A&M OL Anthony Steen Sr. Alabama OL Cedric Ogbuehi Jr. Texas A&M
AP Marcus Murphy Jr. Missouri AP LaDarius Perkins Sr. Mississippi State AP Andre Debose Sr. Florida
PK Carey Spear Sr. Vanderbilt PK Taylor Bertolet So. Texas A&M PK Zach Hocker Sr. Arkansas
DL Anthony Johnson Jr. LSU DL Ed Stinson Sr. Alabama DL C.J. Johnson Jr. Ole Miss
DL Jadeveon Clowney Jr. South Carolina DL Chris Smith Sr. Arkansas DL Kony Ealy Jr. Missouri
DL Dominique Easley Sr. Florida DL Dante Fowler So. Florida DL Chaz Sutton Jr. South Carolina
DL Kelcy Quarles Jr. South Carolina DL Denico Autry Sr. Mississippi State DL Bud Dupree Jr. Kentucky
LB A.J. Johnson Jr. Tennessee LB Avery Williamson Sr. Kentucky LB Chase Garnham Sr. Vanderbilt
LB C.J. Mosley Sr. Alabama LB Amarlo Herrera Jr. Georgia LB Steven Jenkins Sr. Texas A&M
LB Denzel Nkemdiche So. Ole Miss LB Adrian Hubbard Jr. Alabama LB Curt Maggitt Jr. Tennessee
DB Loucheiz Purifoy Jr. Florida DB Ha Ha Clinton-Dix Jr. Alabama DB Victor Hampton Jr. South Carolina
DB Damian Swann Jr. Georgia DB Charles Sawyer Sr. Ole Miss DB Marcus Roberson Jr. Florida
DB E.J. Gaines Sr. Missouri DB Andre Hal Sr. Vanderbilt DB Kenny Ladler Sr. Vanderbilt
DB Craig Loston Sr. LSU DB Nickoe Whitley Sr. Mississippi State DB Deshazor Everett Jr. Texas A&M
P Kyle Christy Jr. Florida P Cody Mandell Sr. Alabama P Michael Palardy Sr. Tennessee