Mississippi State suspends seven for opener

Field Level Media

August 31, 2019 at 4:06 pm.

Mississippi State suspended seven players for its opener against Louisiana for unspecified violations of team rules.

They are defensive tackle Lee Autry, kicker Jace Christmann, linebacker Willie Gay Jr., receiver Devonta Jason, offensive linemen Michael Story and Kwatrivous Johnson, and safety Marcus Murphy.

Jordan Lawless will assume the kicking duties for the day.

The Bulldogs and the Ragin’ Cajuns are playing Saturday afternoon at the Superdome in New Orleans.