Sun Belt football season to start Labor Day weekend

Field Level Media

August 04, 2020 at 4:12 pm.

The Sun Belt Conference will kick off the 2020 football season over Labor Day weekend, with members playing an eight-game conference schedule plus up to four nonconference contests.

“(We) have focused since June on a safe return to athletic activities,” the league announced Tuesday. “We believe this timetable will allow for the healthy integration of the entire campus community for each Sun Belt member.”

The Sun Belt championship game is scheduled to be held Dec. 5 between the East Division and West Division winners. The date can be adjusted if necessary.

“Sun Belt Presidents and Chancellors, Athletics Directors, the COVID-19 Advisory Panel, and medical advisors will continue to review data to ensure a safe return to activities and competition,” the league said. “Our data review will cross seven states and 12 counties and include, among other things, infection rates, hospitalization rates, local health directives, advancements in COVID-19 testing and campus, department and team health trends.”

Ten schools play football in the Sun Belt: Appalachian State, Arkansas State, Coastal Carolina, Georgia Southern, Georgia State, Louisiana, Louisiana-Monroe, South Alabama, Texas State and Troy.