Gunnar Henderson, Corbin Carroll unanimous Rookies of the Year

Field Level Media

November 14, 2023 at 12:14 am.

Baltimore Orioles infielder Gunnar Henderson and Arizona Diamondbacks outfielder Corbin Carroll were named the American League and National League Rookies of the Year on Monday night, both by unanimous consensus.

Henderson and Carroll each received all 30 first-place votes from a panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

Henderson, 22, joined a litany of Orioles players to win the award that includes Eddie Murray (1977), Cal Ripken Jr. (1982) and, most recently, Gregg Olson (1989).

After appearing in 34 games in 2022, Henderson retained rookie status for 2023 and split his time between shortstop and third base. In 150 games, Henderson batted .255 with a .325 on-base percentage and a .489 slugging percentage. He hit 28 home runs, 29 doubles, nine triples and 82 RBIs en route to winning a Silver Slugger award.

Behind Henderson, Cleveland Guardians pitcher Tanner Bibee placed second in voting with 67 total points. Boston Red Sox first baseman Triston Casas was third at 25 points.

Carroll is the first player in Diamondbacks history to win Rookie of the Year honors.

Carroll, 23, also made his MLB debut in 2022 in a limited capacity before becoming an everyday player in 2023. Carroll batted .285 with a .362 on-base percentage and a .506 slugging percentage over 155 games for an Arizona team that reached the World Series.

Carroll hit 25 home runs, 30 doubles and 76 RBIs while stealing 54 bases. He was named to the NL All-Star team.

New York Mets pitcher Kodai Senga finished second in voting (71 points) after his first MLB season since coming over from his native Japan. Los Angeles Dodgers outfielder James Outman finished third with 20 points.